Jarle Trondal has been awarded the Michael Endres Prize

Trondal is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Oslo and University of Agder. His research focuses on questions of multilevel governance, European integration, and organisational theory.

Berlin, 12.12.2023, Michael Endres Prize winner Jarle Trondal is joining the Jacques Delors Centre this year for as a Visiting Researcher.

Jarle Trondal is Professor of Political Science at the University of Oslo, ARENA Centre for European Studies and at the University of Agder, Department of Political Science and Management. In addition, he is a Senior Fellow at the University of California, Berkeley and member of the Research Council of the European University Institute.

Trondal’s work focuses primarily on public policy and administration, organisational theory, international organisations, European integration and multilevel governance, and studies of crisis and turbulence. His work has been published in journals such as the Journal of European Public Policy, European Journal of Political Research, and West European Politics, among others.

During his time at the Jacques Delors Centre Professor Trondal will be working on questions of robust governance, international bureaucracies, and multilevel administrative systems, with two book publications planned for 2024 and 2025 with Cambridge University Press and Edward Elgar. We are very pleased to welcome Jarle Trondal to the Jacques Delors Centre and are looking forward to the cooperation to come. “Jarle Trondal is a leading voice in the study of EU integration, particularly through his important work on the development of the administrative state in Europe. We are delighted to welcome him to Hertie and the Jacques Delors Centre as Endres Professor”, said our Co-Director Mark Dawson.

The Michael Endres Prize is a research and teaching award, bestowed annually since 2017 on a distinguished scholar working on topics related to the Hertie School’s research and teaching agenda. Since 2020, the prize is awarded as a 10-month visiting professorship at the school’s Jacques Delors Centre, a research centre and think tank focused on European governance.

The Prize is named for the long-time Chairman and current honorary Chairman of the Hertie Foundation’s Board of Trustees, Michael Endres, who was instrumental in founding the school in 2003 and who has helped guide its successful development since. The selection committee is chaired by former German President Horst Köhler. Former winners of the Michael Endres Prize include Antoine Vauchez (2021), Frank Schimmelfennig (2020), Adrienne Héritier, Kathleen Thelen (both 2019), Anne-Marie Slaughter (2018) and Theodor Baums (2017).

The Hertie School in Berlin prepares exceptional students for leadership positions in government, business, and civil society. The school offers master’s, doctoral and executive education programmes distinguished by interdisciplinary and practice-oriented teaching, as well as outstanding research. Its extensive international network positions it as an ambassador of good governance, characterised by public debate and engagement. The school was founded in 2003 by the Hertie Foundation, which remains its major funder. The Hertie School is accredited by the state and the German Science Council.